Atlas Content Cover Photo
Atlas Content Avatar

Opinion

A topic by Atlas Content · 181 Cards 0 Followers
Follow

Share this Topic

Topics

It must suck blowing $60K a year on an education you can just Amazon Prime but then again joke’s on anyone who sends their kid to an elite private school because they mistakenly believe they’re special — the exact opposite of the lesson you should be teaching your offspring

Saved to
Education Opinion Anna Khachiyan
about 1 year ago
about 1 year ago

The trauma industrial complex wants to rob you of your loyalty and dignity because that’s all you have when you have nothing. These female celebs and politicos holding press conferences about being traumatized by realities they willingly opted into are here to lead by example.

Saved to
Opinion Anna Khachiyan
about 1 year ago
about 1 year ago

American Psycho is the female version of American Psycho in that Patrick Bateman is the female (or gay) psyche “estranged” or “defamiliarized” by making it that of a straight male for maximum effect. Tony Soprano is this too but for class not gender. https://t.co/lwSpbC5Sm5 https://t.co/udLUWheU7j

about 1 year ago

Guaranteed they will discover a link between and cosmetic fillers and autoimmune disease in the not so distant future or they already have but aren’t exactly rushing to publicize it because you’d have to be an idiot to tamper with an industry so lucrative

about 1 year ago

Life is a series of minor but cumulative indignities, calamities and humiliations. The question of whether you can avoid this is really the question of whether you can offload them onto others, as the ultrarich do by habit. If you’re a decent person, you must suffer in private.

Saved to
Opinion Anna Khachiyan
about 1 year ago
about 1 year ago
Post

Opinion | Why Being a Foster Child Made Me a Conservative - The New York Times

NEW HAVEN — There aren’t many conservative students at Yale: fewer than 12 percent, according to a survey by our student newspaper. There are fewer former foster children. I am one of the rare students on campus who can claim both identities.

My unusual upbringing has shaped my conservatism. My birth mother was addicted to drugs. As a young child, I spent five years in foster care. At age 7, I was adopted, but for a long time after that I was raised in broken homes.

Foster care, broken homes and military service have fashioned my judgments. My experiences drive me to reflect on what environments are best for children. Certainly not the ones I came from.

Where I came from can be understood through my name: Robert Kim Henderson. All three names were taken from different adults.

Robert comes from my supposed biological father. The only information I have about him is his name from a document provided by a social worker responsible for my case when I was a foster child.

My middle name, Kim, comes from my biological mother. It was her family name. She succumbed to drug addiction, rendering her unable to care for me.

And my last name: Henderson. It comes from my former adoptive father. After my adoptive mother left him, he severed ties with me in order to hurt her. He figured that my emotional pain from his desertion would be transmitted to my adoptive mother. He was right. The three people who gave me their names have something in common: All abandoned me. None took responsibility.

Last year, a fellow student told me I was a victim. Yale is the only place where someone has said this to me. I responded that if someone had told me I was a victim when I was a kid, I would never have made it to the Air Force, where I served for eight years, or to Yale. I would have given up. When I was 10, a teacher told me that if I applied myself, I could alter my future. This advice changed my life. From my response, my fellow student inferred that I was not as progressive as him. As our conversation unfolded, he asked, “What does it actually mean to be a conservative?”

For me, the answer is that people who came before us weren’t stupid. They were stunted in many ways. But not in every way. Older people have insights worthy of our attention.

One piece of inherited wisdom is the value of the two-parent family. It’s not fashionable to talk about this. How people raise their children is a matter of preference. But it is not really up for debate that the two-parent home is, on average, better for children.

First, two parents can provide their children more resources, including emotional support, encouragement and help with homework. One conscientious parent, no matter how heroic, cannot do the work of two. Second, single-parent households have a lower standard of living, which is associated with lower school grades and test scores.

Here is an example of the success of intact families from one of my psychology classes. The professor asked students to anonymously respond to a question about parental background. Out of 25 students, only one student besides me did not grow up in a traditional two-parent family. It’s no accident that most of my peers at Yale came from intact families.

Outcomes are worse for foster children. Ten percent of them enroll in college, and 3 percent graduate. To my knowledge, among more than 5,000 undergraduates at Yale my senior year, the number of former foster children was under 10.

Along with taking accumulated wisdom seriously, I understand conservative philosophy to mean that the role of the individual in making decisions and undertaking obligations is paramount. Individuals have rights. But they also have responsibilities.

For instance, when I say parents should prioritize their children over their careers, there is a sense of unease among my peers. They think I want to blame individuals rather than a nebulous foe like poverty. They are mostly right. Many people who come from privilege do not like placing blame on ordinary people. They prefer to blame ideologies, institutions, abstractions.

A cynical interpretation of this attitude is that some students want to keep the competition down. Fewer children raised in good families means less competition for those at the top.

My skin crawls when people use me as an example of a person who can shoulder the burdens of a nontraditional upbringing and succeed. They use my success as an argument for lax attitudes about parenting. But I am one of the lucky ones.

Many people have asked me how I turned out to be relatively successful, given my turbulent childhood. My answer is simple: During adolescence, I had the benefit of two parents, my adoptive mother and her partner, and I believed I had control of my future.

My adoptive mother and her partner raised me from middle school through high school in the early to mid-2000s in a rural California town called Red Bluff. They made a stable home for me. We had dinner together every weeknight. We talked about minutiae. They would ask me, “How was school today?” And I would respond with the usual “It was fine.” They gave me unsolicited advice. I was sarcastic in response. And we loved one another.

I experienced a stable family, if only for a few years. Though they experienced homophobia and struggled financially, they never let it get in the way of doing the right thing for their son.

Ordinary adults taking responsibility made all the difference for me. I maintain that the agency of individuals will lead to fewer impoverished childhoods.

If today that makes me a conservative, great. I take responsibility for that.

My experiences forced me to reflect on what environments are best for children. Certainly not the ones I came from.

Read More
Hide
Saved to
Opinion Rob Henderson
about 1 year ago
about 1 year ago
Post

Caribbean Rhythms with BAP - Episode 2 - Angola, Angola! by Bronze Age Pervert

Second episode of momentous show Caribbean Rhythms with Bronze Age Pervert. Treat with historical example problem of liberalism, multiculturalism, multiracialism...wat mean? I talk about Angola, Epstein, many other things; I put music interlude for relax.

TABLE OF CONTENT:

Intro, I defend against attaqs

Part 1, Epstein case, hidden hand 5:12

Part 2, Paul le Roux, the Mastermind, a role model! 12:50

Part 3, Angola I wot is the soil? 18:31

Part 4, Angola II wat is multiculturalism 25:51

Part 5, wat China do? and a modest proposal: population transfer 33:17

Read More
Hide
about 1 year ago
Post

Caribbean Rhythms with BAP - Episode 14 - Political Conservationism by Bronze Age Pervert

TO GET FULL SHOW please subscribe: gumroad.com/l/BronzeAgePervert

What you see here is only the first part of Episode 14 ...about another 25-30 minutes you can get after you subscribe to my gumroad...

This show I talk about meaning of frogtwitter and our UNCOMPROMISING stand for nature, health and against your poisoning by the Chemical World Order. I call out agrochemical industry, industrial farming, pharma industry, many other things. We will never surrender!

Read More
Hide
about 1 year ago
Post

Caribbean Rhythms with BAP - Episode 64 - What Make Empire? by Bronze Age Pervert | Free Listening on SoundCloud

This is only the first part of Episode 64. For full 1 hour 20 min show and all past shows please subscribe muh Gumroad:
gumroad.com/l/BronzeAgePervert

I start to talk problem of empire and what means art of rule? I give examples of strange behavior by Byzantines in Italy, I also talk Greece independence, idea of what means Romans. This is only introduction to topic. America has identity confusion syndrome.

The most powerfuk show of the century!

We will win!!

Read More
Hide
about 1 year ago
Post

Caribbean Rhythms with BAP - Episode 65 - Tropicalism and Supreme Gentleman by Bronze Age Pervert | Free Listening on SoundCloud

This is only the first part of Episode 65. For full 1 hour 30 min show and all past shows please subscribe muh Gumroad:
gumroad.com/l/BronzeAgePervert

What is problem of tropical life...it torment me! I talk difference between tropical and temperate life, (human) biodiversity, how life takes a path of degeneration or the opposite, what means development of majestic type, relationship to politic, and why I am tormented by the needling hunger of tropical aphidoids.

The most powerfuk show of the century!

We will win!!

Read More
Hide
about 1 year ago
Post

Caribbean Rhythms with BAP - Episode 67 - Marxoid Demons Dumb by Bronze Age Pervert

This is only the first part of Episode 67. For full 1 hour 10 min show and all past shows please subscribe muh Gumroad:
gumroad.com/l/BronzeAgePervert

I expose malice of occupational class regarding American foodways, their obsession with Putler, and talk about problems with understanding modernity in terms of historical forces or "systems." Second part of show is attaq on Marxism fundamental ideas, on all historical determinism, and on how neo-Marxist "systems analysis" seeks to foster powerlessness in reader; and at end of show I give brief exhortation to different and ancient path!

The most powerfuk show of the century!

We will win!!

Read More
Hide
about 1 year ago
Post

Caribbean Rhythms with BAP - Episode 71 - NIetzsche and the Body by Bronze Age Pervert | Free Listening on SoundCloud

This is only the first part of Episode 71. For full 1 hour 20 min show and all past shows please subscribe muh Gumroad:
gumroad.com/l/BronzeAgePervert

On this episode I educate you EDOMITES on NIetzsche, the reason he was the last philosopher and first FROG THINKER in history, the primacy of the body and of physiology and wat this means for political life and for foundation of morality. The crisis of modern world in wake of coming of bugman. And many other topic--I discuss his book Ecce Homo

The most powerfuk show of the century!
We will win

Read More
Hide
about 1 year ago
Post

Caribbean Rhythms with BAP - Episode 76 - Origins and Meaning of Ghey Movement by Bronze Age Pervert | Free Listening on SoundCloud

This is only the first part of Episode 76. For full 1 hr 15 min show and all past shows please subscribe muh Gumroad:
gumroad.com/l/BronzeAgePervert

Very contentious, very CONTROVERSIAL! Continuation of Episode 75, on this part I talk the origin and meaning of the modern ghey movement. What Mugabe say?

The most powerfuk show of the century!

Read More
Hide
about 1 year ago
Video

Caribbean Rhythms with BAP - Episode 15 - Some Thoughts on Art and Fraud - YouTube

about 1 year ago
Video

BAP-Vox Ch. 1, Bronze Age Pervert & Vox author Tara Burton

Video

Bronze Age Pervert - Bronze Age Mindset - YouTube

about 1 year ago
Video

Interview with Bronze Age Pervert - YouTube

about 1 year ago

Thoughts on the @squarespace direct listing: https://t.co/KfXj9bHFoU

about 1 year ago

SF was always the Accidental Billionaire. Because of proximity to Silicon Valley, it benefitted from tech wealth its policies did nothing to create. Its collapse will redistribute opportunity to rest of country. So SF politicians will “spread the wealth” just not how they thought

about 1 year ago

Wokedom is a lockdown of the mind. People will eventually rebel against it as hard as Covid lockdowns.

Saved to
Opinion David Sacks
about 1 year ago
about 1 year ago